UFC Finalizes Lineup for “Franklin vs. Belfort”

Rich Franklin. Photo property of the Ultimate Fighting Championship.

The Ultimate Fighting Championship this morning confirmed two previously rumored changes that will finalize the lineup for UFC 103: “Franklin vs. Belfort”, which will take place on September 19 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas.

EliteXC and Strikeforce veteran Paul “Semtex” Daley will indeed replace an injured Mike Swick against rising welterweight contender Martin Kampmann in a featured bout on UFC 103’s main card. Swick was forced out of the bout after sustaining a concussion during training.

Daley enters the contest a winner of nine out of his last eleven fights, with his only losses coming against top-ranked welterweights Jake Shields and Nick Thompson. His opponent, Kampmann, shot to the upper half of the welterweight rankings with a dazzling performance against former WEC welterweight king Carlos Condit back in April. It was Kampmann’s second consecutive win since dropping to 170 lbs.

In addition, UFC newcomer Brian Foster will now officially be matched up against fellow welterweight prospect Ricky Story, who fell in his UFC debut at UFC 99, dropping a unanimous decision to John Hathaway. Foster, a protege of former UFC welterweight champ Matt Hughes, has won his last three fights.

A 195 lb catchweight fight between former UFC middleweight champion Rich Franklin and returning former UFC light heavyweight champion Vitor Belfort will headline the 13-bout lineup. At least two preliminary bouts, most likely Efrain Escudero vs. Cole Miller and Drew McFedries vs. Tomasz Drwal, are scheduled to air live on Spike TV prior to the pay-per-view event.

The complete card is as follows:

Main Card
Rich Franklin vs. Vitor Belfort
Mirko Cro Cop vs. Junior Dos Santos
Martin Kampmann vs. Paul Daley
Josh Koscheck vs. Frank Trigg
Tyson Griffin vs. Hermes Franca

Preliminary Bouts
Efrain Escudero vs. Cole Miller
Drew McFedries vs. Tomasz Drwal
Jim Miller vs. Steve Lopez
Rafaello Oliveira vs. Nik Lentz
Ricky Story vs. Brian Foster
Eliot Marshall vs. Jason Brilz
Vladimir Matyushenko vs. Igor Pokrajac
Rob Emerson vs. Rafael Dos Anjos



<< Back to main