Sengoku Updates Event Lineups, Outlines Plans for New Year’s Eve Show

Antonio Silva. Photo by Esther Lin/EliteXC.

At a press conference early this morning in Japan, World Victory Road announced updated lineups and participants for their scheduled “Sengoku 10th and 11th Battle” events, which will take place on September 23 and November 6 respectively.

The finalized fight card and bout order for “10th Battle”, which will take place at the Saitama Super Arena, was revealed and headlining the show will be Judo champion Hiroshi Izumi making his MMA debut against fellow rookie and part-time kickboxer Antz Nansen.

Other bouts of note will include former EliteXC heavyweight champion Antonio Silva vs. Jim York, one-time IFL standout Ryan Schultz vs. Kazunori Yokota, upstart welterweight prospect Dan Hornbuckle vs. former Bodog welterweight title holder Nick Thompson, and longtime veteran Joe Doerksen vs. Takenori Sato.

Sengoku middleweight champion Jorge Santiago, featherweight grand semifinalist and UFC veteran Michihiro Omigawa and former UFC heavyweight champion Kevin Randleman were announced as participants for “11th Battle”, which is scheduled to emanate from the Ryogoku Kokugikan Arena in Tokyo.

While an opponent for Sanitago has yet to be determined, Randleman is likely to take on undefeated heavyweight prospect Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal. The winner of September’s middleweight bout between Doerksen and Sato could also find themselves as the next challenger for Santiago’s belt.

Once advertised as competing at both of the aforementioned shows, 2008 Olympic judo gold medalist Satoshi Ishii will now apparently make his long-awaited MMA debut at Sengoku’s second-annual New Year’s Eve show, which is slated to happen on either December 31 or January 3 according to WVR officials.

Additional fighters possible for Sengoku’s year-end event include PRIDE veteran Hidehiko Yoshida, Sengoku lightweight champion Mizuto Hirota, featherweight champion Masanori Kanehara, and Kitaoka.

The official and advertised lineups for each event are as follows:

Sengoku “10th Battle”
Hiroshi Izumi vs. Antz Nansen
Antonio Silva vs. Jim York
Jae Sun Lee vs. Makoto Takimoto
Ryan Schultz vs. Kazunori Yokota
Ryo Kawamura vs. Fabio Silva
Dan Hornbuckle vs. Nick Thompson
Joe Doerksen vs. Takenori Sato
Maximo Blanco vs. Tetsuya Yamada
Baek Woo Hyun vs. Ikuo Usuda
Kim Ki Hyun vs. Shigeki Osawa
So Jee Hyun vs. Ryosuke Komori

Sengoku “11th Battle”
Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal vs. Kevin Randleman
Jorge Santiago vs. TBA
Michihiro Omigawa vs. TBA
Marlon Sandro vs. TBA
Hatsu Hioki vs. TBA
Josh Barnett vs. TBA
Alexandre “Xande” Ribeiro vs. TBA
Satoru Kitaoka vs. TBA
Eiji Mitsuoka vs. TBA
Akihiro Gono vs. TBA

Sengoku “No Ran 2010”
Satoshi Ishii vs. TBA
Hidehiko Yoshida vs. TBA
Mizuto Hirota vs. TBA
Masanori Kanehara vs. TBA
Satoru Kitaoka vs. TBA


<< Back to main