Mishima Decisons Imanari in DEEP FW Debut

Dokonjonosuke Mishima. Photo property of the Ultimate Fighting Championship.

In his first fight in over a year, Dokonjonosuke Mishima used superior striking and wrestling to squeak out a majority decision over reigning DEEP featherweight champion Masakazu Imanari at the organization’s latest show last night in Japan.

Mishima, who was making his featherweight debut in the fight, used constant leg sweeps to frustrate Imanari and take the Cage Rage veteran down throughout the course of the bout. Mishima scored early and often with an array of strikes on the feet and was able to use an effective ground-and-pound strategy while on top of Imanari.

Imanari’s came close to ending the fight late in the third round when he caught Mishima in a kneebar that forced the colorful veteran to hold on until the final bell. After the fight, Mishima announced his intention to return to the UFC to finish out the remainder of his contract with the promotion.

Yuichi Nakanishi won a hard-fought unanimous decision over EliteXC veteran Riki Fukuda in the finals of DEEP’s middleweight tournament to capture the vacant title in that weight class. Nakanishi used an assault of first-round leg kicks followed by crisp combinations in the second stanza to earn the nod in the eyes of the judges.

Nakanishi and Fukuda defeated Daijiro Matsui and Yuya Shirai respectively before moving on to the final round of the tourney

Complete results from the event:

Yuichi Nakanishi def. Riki Fukuda - Unanimous Decision
Dokonjonosuke Mishima def. Masakazu Imanari - Majority Decision
Yuichi Nakanishi def. Daijiro Matsui - Unanimous Decision
Riki Fukuda def. Yuya Shirai - Split Decision
Jutaro Nakao def. Shigetoshi Iwase - Unanimous Decision
Ryuta Sakurai def. Ryo Sai - Unanimous Decision
Hidehiko Hasegawa vs. Hiroki Nagaoka - Draw
Sung Hwan Pang fef. Kazunori Yokota - KO (Punches)
Mai Ichii def. Satoko Shinashi - Majority Decision
Katsunori Kikuno def. Seigo Inoue - Unanimous Decision
Luiz Luiz def. Toshikazu Iseno - TKO (Strikes)
Koichiro Matsumoto def. Yuki Ito - Majority Decision
Hyun Gyu Lim def. Noboru Onishi - TKO (Cut)
Yasuhiro Kawasaki def. Muneyuki Sato - TKO (Strikes)


<< Back to main