Minowa Subs Frye at DEEP’s “Gladiator”

Ikuhisa Minowa. Photo property of PRIDE FC Worldwide.

Ikuhisa Minowa was victorious again in his quest to become Japan’s most successful open-weight fighter, submitting fellow longtime veteran and cult hero Don Frye with a first-round kneebar in the main event of DEEP’s “Gladiator” show this morning at the Momotaro Arena in Okayama, Japan.

After stuffing Minowa’s first takedown attempt, Frye quickly found himself on his back at the start of the bout. Minowa immediately dropped back for a heel hook and locked in the hold, but was unable to force Frye to tap. Minowa eventually switched to a kneebar, which after a few moments, finally forced Frye to give up.

In a team battle between fighters from Korea and Japan, it was Korea that came away with a 4-1 victory. Notable bouts saw UFC veteran Michihiro Omigawa drop a unanimous decsion to Chul Hyun Jung while Jutaro Nakao picked up the lone win for the Japanese, defeating Yong Fun Lee via second-round TKO.

Gary Goodridge lost a hard-fought decision to Hiromi Amada in the first of four K-1 rules bouts. Jan Nortje scored a stoppage of PRIDE veteran Tom Erikson in another.

DEEP will proceed with their “37th Impact” event at Korakuen Hall in Tokyo tomorrow. Cage Rage featherweight champion Masakazu Imanari will drop down to the bantamweight division to challenge Hiroshi Umemura for DEEP’s vacant bantamweight title in the main event.

Complete results from the event courtesy of Sherdog.com and Nightmare of Battle:

Ikuhisa Minowa def. Don Frye - Submission (Kneebar)
Chul Hyun Jung def. Michihiro Omigawa - Unanimous Decision
Jutaro Nakao def. Yong Fun Lee - TKO (Strikes)
Eun Soo Lee def. Daijiro Matsui - Unanimous Decision
Min Sok Ho def. Hikaru Sato - TKO (Strikes)
Kim Tae Kyung def. Akihiko Mouri - Unanimous Decision
Lee Sang Soo def. Shamoji Fujii - TKO (Strikes)
Yusuke Sakashita def. Minoru Kato - TKO (Strikes)

K-1 Rules Bouts

Hiromi Amada def. Gary Goodridge - Unanimous Decision
Jan Nortje def. Tom Erikson - KO
Keigo Takamori def. Bernard Ackah - KO
Tsuyoshi Yokoyama def. Marcelo Nascimento - Unanimous Decision
Yuki Tanaka def. Perushan Mos - Split Decision


<< Back to main