Ford, Gormley Victorious at MFC 16

Ryan Ford. Photo courtesy of the Maximum Fighting Championship.

Canadian welterweight prospect Ryan Ford remains undefeated after submitting Ultimate Fighting Championship veteran C.J. Fernandes with a first-round rear naked choke in the main event of Maximum Fighting Championship’s “Anger Management” show last night in Edmonton, Alberta.

The sold out crowd inside the River Cree Resort and Casino saw Ford swiftly take Fernandes’ just seconds into the fight. Fernandes’ experience played a big part in getting out of the dangerous position as he patently waited until he was able to reverse position and mount Ford on his back.

With the fighters too close to the ropes, the fight was moved back to center where Ford was able to take Fernandes’ back once again. The veteran fought off yet another choke attempt but Ford was eventually able to sink in his hooks and force Fernandes to tap.

The win has earned Ford a shot at the vacant MFC welterweight title at the promotion’s next event on July 25th. His opponent may be fellow undefeated rising star Matt Veach, who used superior wrestling and constant takedowns to hand Matt MacGrath his first professional loss in another featured fight on the card.

The co-main event saw California product Chase Gormley use dirty boxing techniques to keep BodogFight veteran Eric Pele against the cage and unable to mount any offense en route to a lackluster unanimous decision but the biggest win of his young career thus far.

Also victorious on the card was Aron Lofton, who bloodied and eventually submitted previously undefeated local prospect Jason Kuchera.

Complete results from the event:

Evan Sanguin def. Dave Nippard - TKO (Strikes)
Troy Sorenson def. Mike Tubbs - Submission (Rear Naked Choke)
Brandon Curts def. Sean Wright - Submission (Rear Naked Choke)
Mike Sorenson def. Jeremy Martin - Submission (Guillotine)
Gavin Neil def. Ryan McGillivray - Split Decision
Aron Lofton def. Jason Kuchera Submission (Guillotine)
Chris Camozzi def. Dwayne Lewis - Unanimous Decision
Ben Henderson def. Mike Maestas - Submission (Rear Naked Choke)
Matt Veach def. Matt MacGrath - Unanimous Decision
Chase Gormley def. Eric Pele - Unanimous Decision
Ryan Ford def. C.J. Fernandes - Submission (Rear Naked Choke)


<< Back to main