Baroni Bests Alfonso at PFC 10

Phil Baroni. Photo by Jon Swenson. Used with permission.

Phil Baroni extended his undefeated streak in the welterweight division Friday night, winning an unanimous decision over former WEC mainstay Olaf Alfonso at Palace Fighting Championship’s “Explosive” event at the Tachi Palace Hotel and Casino in Lemoore, California.

Baroni overcame a tough first round in which he suffered a cut under his left eye to control Alfonso over the next two rounds. He used crisp combinations in timely takedowns to keep Alfonso off-balance and hand him his first loss of the year.

The event also featured three separate championship bouts: Bryan Travers defeated Jeremiah Metcalf via unanimous decision to claim the vacant PFC welterweight title, Shawn Klarcyk submitted Brandon Miller to retain his PFC bantamweight crown and Brian Cobb coasted to an easy decision win over David Gardner to remain the PFC’s lightweight champion.

Complete results from the event courtesy of

Phil Baroni def. Olaf Alfonso - Unanimous Decision
Bryan Travers def. Jeremiah Metcalf - Unanimous Decision
Shawn Klarcyk def. Brandon Miller - Submission (Armbar)
Brian Cobb def. David Gardner - Unanimous Decision
Joe Soto def. Brandon Jinnies - TKO (Strikes)
Antonio Banuelos def. Bryan Goldsby - KO (Punch)
Lavar Johnson def. Vince Lucero - KO (Punch)
David Suarez def. David Mitchell - KO (Slam)
Xavier Foupa-Pokam def. Richard Montoya - Submission (Armbar)
Poppies Martinez def. Sergio Cortez—Unanimous Decision
Dustin Akbari def. Bill Theofanopoulos - TKO (Strikes)
Chad Mendes def. Geovanni Encarnacion - Submission (Rear Naked Choke)
Luis Gonzalez def. Elbert Randle - TKO (Strikes)
Joey Cabezas def. Billy Terry - TKO (Strikes)
Omar Sandoval def. Mike Craddock - Unanimous Decision
Chris Bothelo def. Anthony Bivens - Majority Decision


<< Back to main