Ashe Bowman

Shamrock, Tank End Losing Streaks

Ken Shamrock. Photo property of the Ultimate Fighting Championship.

Ken Shamrock and Tank Abbott both ended their respective losing streaks with wins at the Wargods and KSP co-promoted “Valentine’s Eve Massacre” show on Friday night in Fresno, California.

Shamrock floored replacement opponent Ross Clifton with a right hand just seconds into their bout before finishing him off with an armbar moments later in the first round. Abbott put his infamous knockout power on display, putting Mike Bourke down for the count with a right hand just 29 seconds into their featured attraction. The two MMA pioneers will now likely clash in a showdown later this year that could mark the final professional bout for both fighters.

Complete results from the event:

Ken Shamrock def. Ross Clifton - Submission (Armbar)
Tank Abbott def. Mike Bourke - KO (Punch)
Josh Haynes def. Rafael Real - Split Decision
Mike Moreno def. Gary Padilla - Unanimous Decision
Ron Kessler def. Darrin Freeman - Unanimous Decision
Zoila Frausto def. Karina Hallinan - Split Decision
Issac de Jesus def. Ashe Bowman - Unanimous Decision
Rick Reeves def. Nathan James - Submission (Rear-Naked Choke)

Thomson-Bowman Set for Non-Title Bout

Josh Thomson. Photo by Jon Swenson.

Strikeforce lightweight champion Josh Thomson will reportedly take on Lion’s Den product Ashe Bowman at the organization’s upcoming event at the Playboy Mansion on September 20th according to

Strikeforce VP Mike Afromowitz is expected to make a formal announcement of the bout at some point next week. Thomson’s title will not be on the line.

Thomson became Strikeforce’s latest lightweight title holder after upsetting highly regarded PRIDE veteran Gilbert Melendez on June 27th in San Jose, California via a five-round unanimous decision. Thomson’s current win streak now stands at seven straight fights.

Bowman meanwhile has been fighting primarily under the newly formed “Ken Shamrock Productions” promotion. He has not fought since earning a second-round submission of Henry Schweichler in October of last year.